MonoX support board

Start the conversation, ask questions and share tips and solutions with fellow developers.

Non-registered users can only browse through our support boards. Please register now if you want to post your questions. It takes a second and it is completely free. Alternatively, you can log in without registration using your credentials at major sites such as Google, Microsoft Live, OpenId, Facebook, LinkedIn or Yahoo.

Start a Custom Project based on MonoX  (Mono Support )

Viewed 46836 time(s), 9 post(s) 5/24/2012 8:03:54 PMby marcus.tham

Related topics

marcus-tham

marcus.tham

5/24/2012 8:03:54 PM
Dear Al,

I've installed MonoX to my development machine and it worked like a charm.

Now I wanna start a customized project based on MonoX platform, hence I follow the User Manual - Portal Development section, as well as this post to start custmizing, with the following steps:

1. Copy the "ProjectName.sln" & "Portal.csproj" to the root folder of my installed monox folder, which is @ "C:\inetpub\wwwroot\MonoX".
2. Then, I open the "ProjectName.sln" file in VS2008 and the folder structure is created.
3. Now, without doing any changes (besides what I've done during the installation of fresh MonoX), I run the project.
4. But the error happened.

I'm not sure why I can't get the folder structure as per the User Manual, and inside my solution file, I can't have all of the Monox folders included.
When I opened the Default.aspx in designer mode, it is loaded with error saying that the controls can't be loaded.

May I know where can I go from here?
Please advise. Thank you




This content has not been rated yet. 
88 Reputation 12 Total posts
marcus-tham

marcus.tham

5/25/2012 6:58:45 PM
Dear All Gurus,

Any comments?

I've referred to this post as well, but I still find no clue to start creating a project based on MonoX framework.
Appreciate all comments & helps.

Thank you very much.
This content has not been rated yet. 
88 Reputation 12 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

5/25/2012 7:31:10 PM
Hi, it seems to me that you have done everything as described so we will need to investigate the error before we proceed. Can you please post the error you get and a screenshot of the solution explorer?
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
marcus-tham

marcus.tham

5/26/2012 4:09:25 AM
Dear Khorvat,

Please refer to the attached for the screens:

1st Screen - Fresh Install - Running with no problem without doing anything.

2nd Screen - Copied the "ProjectName.sln" & "Portal.csproj" to Website Root Folder.

3rd Screen - Open "ProjectName.sln" using vs2008 and its folder structure.

4th Screen - Run (F5) from VS2008 error (without changing anything)

Please advise if I'm going to the correct direction.
Thank you.
This content has not been rated yet. 
88 Reputation 12 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

5/26/2012 11:14:21 AM
Hi, due to all sort of issues it is better not to use design view in visual studio, I have mentioned This in one of the posts. As for vs error that you get, you need to switch IIS app pool To .net 4.0. Let me know if this helps.
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
marcus-tham

marcus.tham

5/26/2012 8:47:34 PM
Dear Khorvat,

Thanks to your prompt reply.

Ok, I'll not use the Designer View anyway.
While for the App Pool, I'm using ASP.NET Integrated App Pool as attached since I installed,
it didn't help.

Please advise. Thank you.
This content has not been rated yet. 
88 Reputation 12 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

5/27/2012 7:37:57 AM
Hi, I see the app pool settings but if you take a closer look at the exception in previous post you will see that error is returned from .net 4.0. Can you please check and get back to me.
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
marcus-tham

marcus.tham

5/27/2012 2:54:22 PM
Dear Khorvat,

Thanks for your prompt reply even on Sunday!

Yes! The previous error was returned from .NET Framework 2.0!

I then check the project settings, I set to .NET 3.5 by default in VS2008, but it stills posted me the same error,
hence I tried to open the ProjectName.sln by using VS2010, and upgrade the framework to 4.0,
and it worked!

I'll now go from here for my road of customizing!
Thanks Khorvat for your support!

This content has not been rated yet. 
88 Reputation 12 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

5/28/2012 7:31:39 AM
Hi,

sorry about this I thought that you have upgraded to VS 2010.

Let me know if you need anything else.

Regards
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts