MonoX support board

Start the conversation, ask questions and share tips and solutions with fellow developers.

Non-registered users can only browse through our support boards. Please register now if you want to post your questions. It takes a second and it is completely free. Alternatively, you can log in without registration using your credentials at major sites such as Google, Microsoft Live, OpenId, Facebook, LinkedIn or Yahoo.

wall in my profile page (Closed) (Mono Support )

Viewed 46840 time(s), 12 post(s) 7/22/2013 1:55:16 PMby sonap

Related topics

kpeulic

kpeulic

7/26/2013 9:10:27 AM
This is probably related to the privacy settings for each user profile. Please go to the edit profile page and check the privacy settings on profile fields.
Please check the attached screenshot for more details.

Let us know if you need more information.
This content has not been rated yet. 
1849 Reputation 181 Total posts
sonap

sonap

7/22/2013 1:57:01 PM
Hello,

we are customizing the "myprofile" page that also has a wall module inside.
The problem is that whenever I post something the activity isn;t displayed anywhere. (If a go to Dashoboard.aspx though, I can see the new post displayed in the activity stream.

I upload a picture of the problem also.
I noticed that in the UserProfile.aspx there isn't any events.ascx file, only the WallNotes module.
Could you please help me?

Thank you,
panos
This content has not been rated yet. 
475 Reputation 52 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

7/22/2013 2:23:54 PM
Hi,

we have tested the functionality and it seems to be working on our end. Can you please describe it in a more detail ? 

We have tested posting something in a box just above the X you marked and it showed up correctly beneath the entry form. Can you please let us know if you have changed the mark-up code of that page ?

Also can you please check the GitHub mark-up and see if there are any differences there, please make sure that you have set the proper UserId on that control - you can check that in code behind file on GitHub etc.

Regards
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
sonap

sonap

7/23/2013 9:19:21 AM
Hello again,

Thank you for your answer.
I figured out the problem. It was the following:
I had placed a wrapper div for the wallNotes comments., and it makes the code not to function.

What can I do in order to wrap all posts and style it, as there isn't a template for the whole code?

<!--CLIPFLAIR--><div class="comments-wrapper">
                    <asp:ListView ID="lvItems" runat="server">
                        <LayoutTemplate>
                            <div>
                                <asp:PlaceHolder runat="server" ID="itemPlaceholder"></asp:PlaceHolder>
                            </div>
                        </LayoutTemplate>
                        <ItemTemplate>
                        </ItemTemplate>
                    </asp:ListView>
                    <asp:Label runat="server" ID="lblNoData" CssClass="empty-list"></asp:Label>
                    <mono:Pager runat="server" ID="pager" PageSize="10" NumericButtonCount="5" AllowCustomPaging="true"
                        AutoPaging="false">
                        <PagerTemplate>
                        </PagerTemplate>
                    </mono:Pager>
<!--/CLIPFLAIR--></div>
This content has not been rated yet. 
475 Reputation 52 Total posts
sonap

sonap

7/23/2013 11:23:35 AM
There is also another problem in the same page. It corcerns with the Profile's name, as it is displayed in the UserProfileHeader.ascx module in this line:
<h2><asp:Literal ID="labName" runat="server"></asp:Literal></h2>
When dipslaying the page, the <h2></h2> tag remains empty (not showing the user's name). I havent changed anything in the corresponding module.

Thank you a lot!
Panos
This content has not been rated yet. 
475 Reputation 52 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

7/23/2013 12:59:05 PM
Hi,

I'm not sure if you are looking for this or not but you can wrap all items by adding your style to this code:
<LayoutTemplate>
     <div> //Put your style here
         <asp:PlaceHolder runat="server" ID="itemPlaceholder"></asp:PlaceHolder>
     </div>
 </LayoutTemplate>
Regarding the "UserProfileHeader", you need to set the UserId to this control in order to automatically pick the profile and display the name.

Regards
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
sonap

sonap

7/23/2013 1:20:03 PM
Thanks a lot! 

how do I set the UserId in the control? In the web part's properties or in the ascx code? what should I place In order to get the ID?
This content has not been rated yet. 
475 Reputation 52 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

7/23/2013 2:14:25 PM
To get the current user id you should use the SecurityUtility.GetUserId(), there are also few overloads in order to get the Id via Username etc.

You should set it programmatically.

Regards
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
sonap

sonap

7/24/2013 7:41:48 AM
Ok. Thank you. You don'd have a tutorial, or sample code available for this?

:)
This content has not been rated yet. 
475 Reputation 52 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

7/24/2013 8:24:12 AM
There are demo pages where you can see what we are doing to get this controls up and running and there is also a Custom Profile  article in our blog section 

http://www.mono-software.com/Blog/post/Mono/95/Building-a-custom-ASP-NET-project-based-on-MonoX/
http://www.mono-software.com/Blog/post/Mono/98/How-to-Extend-MonoX-and-ASP-NET-Profile/

Let us know if you need more information.

Regards
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
sonap

sonap

7/25/2013 11:30:56 AM
Hello again! I am trying to figure the problem out but unfortunately my knowledge on .net is limited.
I therefore know that the problem appears only for all users that do not have administrator privileges.
To be more specific: When a user's profile with admin privileges is viewed, his name is shown on the profile header (the same way as in your demo monox site), in any other case it is ignored and not printed. I don't know what I should do. 


<asp:Panel ID="rowStatus" runat="server" CssClass="status clearfix">
                        <div class="profile-status-top">
                            <h2><asp:Literal ID="labName" runat="server"></asp:Literal></h2>
                            <p class="status-text"><asp:Literal ID="labMyStatus" runat="server"></asp:Literal></p>
                        </div>
                        <div id="panStatusEdit" runat="server" class="profile-status-bottom">
                            <div class="float-right">
                                <MonoXPrivacyManager:PrivacyEditor ID="privacyEditor" runat="server" CssClass="privacy float-left"></MonoXPrivacyManager:PrivacyEditor>
                                <asp:LinkButton ID="btnSetMyStatus" runat="server" CssClass="styled-button float-left"></asp:LinkButton>
                            </div>
                            <div class="status-composer">
                                <asp:TextBox runat="server" ID="txtMyStatus" CssClass="jq_swap_value"></asp:TextBox>
                                <asp:LinkButton ID="lnkRemoveStatus" runat="server" CausesValidation="false" CssClass="remove-status"></asp:LinkButton>
                            </div>
                        </div>
                        <div id="panStatusView" runat="server"></div>
                    </asp:Panel>
This content has not been rated yet. 
475 Reputation 52 Total posts
1 2