MonoX support board

Start the conversation, ask questions and share tips and solutions with fellow developers.

Non-registered users can only browse through our support boards. Please register now if you want to post your questions. It takes a second and it is completely free. Alternatively, you can log in without registration using your credentials at major sites such as Google, Microsoft Live, OpenId, Facebook, LinkedIn or Yahoo.

Change text  (Mono Support )

Viewed 6171 time(s), 7 post(s) 6/17/2014 3:05:57 AMby Samtg
Samtg

Samtg

6/17/2014 3:05:57 AM
Hi,
     I was wondering how to change text on the website, such as in the Profile, for example, in About, change "About Me:".  This is just one of many examples, but the only place I saw to change it is in LocalizationString.sql, but changes made did not change it.  Thank you.

This content has not been rated yet. 
440 Reputation 38 Total posts
mzilic

mzilic

6/17/2014 9:19:38 AM
Hello,

MonoX by default uses Resource localization (resx), you can also change this to use DBResourceManager. In order to make your localization changes you need to download our resource localization available here: https://github.com/MonoSoftware/MonoX-Localization-Resources then make your changes and replace the dll in your project.

Regards,
Mario
Rated 5.00, 1 vote(s). 
2218 Reputation 300 Total posts
Samtg

Samtg

6/18/2014 3:29:55 PM
When you download the files, to make sure I got this right, which files go where (including what dll), and what changes will appear different after it is done?  Thanks.
This content has not been rated yet. 
440 Reputation 38 Total posts
mzilic

mzilic

6/20/2014 4:52:10 PM
Hello,

You should download the localization project, reference relevant (or missing) MonoX dependencies which you can see in the references. After then you should just change the resources you want and build the project. Finally just replace the Localization dll inside MonoX bin directory.

Regards
Rated 5.00, 1 vote(s). 
2218 Reputation 300 Total posts
Zoomicon

Zoomicon

8/25/2014 1:16:06 PM
the only broken reference seems to be "MonoSoftware.Web.ResourceProviderModel" which one can find at the "bin" folder of the site after they expand References / do Add Reference / select Browse...
This content has not been rated yet. 
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts
Zoomicon

Zoomicon

8/25/2014 2:19:13 PM

I've unpacked that source into a "Localization" folder in the website, then I opened up with VS2013 and fixed the reference mentioned above

Then I set the project to output to the "bin" folder of the website when using Release configuration (not the Debug one) and rebuilt

However, I notice in "bin" folder of the site there is say "es-ES" folder that has

MonoX.Localization.resources.dll (NEW)

MonoX.resources.dll (OLD)

are the 2nd ones leftovers from the past? Should I remove them?

- also in hr-HR I see the extra file MonoSoftware.MonoX.DAL.resources. Is this needed? There is also "MonoSoftware.MonoX.DAL" and "MonoSoftware.MonoX.DALDBSpecific" in the main "bin" folder

This content has not been rated yet. 
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts
idrazic

idrazic

9/9/2014 12:47:21 PM
Hi Zoomicon,

MonoX.Localization.resources.dll  keep
MonoX.resources.dll remove
MonoSoftware.MonoX.DAL.resources.dll remove
MonoSoftware.MonoX.DAL.dll keep
MonoSoftware.MonoX.DALDBSpecific.dll keep

Regards,
Igor
Rated 5.00, 1 vote(s). 
1384 Reputation 152 Total posts