MonoX support board

Start the conversation, ask questions and share tips and solutions with fellow developers.

Non-registered users can only browse through our support boards. Please register now if you want to post your questions. It takes a second and it is completely free. Alternatively, you can log in without registration using your credentials at major sites such as Google, Microsoft Live, OpenId, Facebook, LinkedIn or Yahoo.

Blog Container settings  (Mono Support )

Viewed 64404 time(s), 23 post(s) 3/8/2011 12:22:00 PMby peterg
peterg

peterg

3/8/2011 12:22:00 PM
Hi There,

Ok we have now got two blog lists.. List A and List B, the idea is to seperate secions of blogs to the relevent parts of the site, thus we have now added a blog to List B so in the main page for the topic of list B we only want to show blogs belonging to List B and not all the blogs in the container.

Ive tried to edit the url properties on the blog container but it seems im doing it wrong.

Please can you assist.
This content has not been rated yet. 
246 Reputation 35 Total posts
denis

denis

3/8/2011 12:39:50 PM
Hi Peter,
Your question is a bit unclear. I understand that you want to separate blog posts by some criteria, ande currently you can approach this in several ways:
- use separate blogs
- use blog categories
- use blog post tags

I would open a separate blogs for list A and list B. It is the easiest way to do it, you would not even have to open new pages, as URL rewriting would route all requests to the same physical page, and blog container knows how to parse the blog name from the URL.
This content has not been rated yet. 
7207 Reputation 956 Total posts
peterg

peterg

3/8/2011 12:53:22 PM
Ok..right...

I dont nesseseraly want split the blogs into two pages as blogs itself but rather just a blog container only showing blogs of A or B not both on a selected page

We have a site blog with all the blogs regardless of category or by blog list - Photography, Camping, Site blog, etc

Then we have a photography PAGE (not a blog page) now we want to show all blogs relevant to Photography to show in the Blog Container Web Part we added to the page. The reason is why we want to add it to a page rather then a blog by itself as it serves as a article feeder for the page
This content has not been rated yet. 
246 Reputation 35 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

3/8/2011 2:03:44 PM
Hi,

maybe you are looking for the "BlogPostList" module that can be used as a article feeder. You can put the Web part on the "photography" page and set the "BlogSlug" property which will filter our all posts that are related to that blog, or you can set "CategoryId" property which will filter posts by blog category. Also you can restyle the Web part if needed to suite your page specific style.

Does this answers your question ?

Regards
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
peterg

peterg

3/9/2011 4:09:06 AM
Yes that one might work, im getting a script error when trying to acess the properties of the Web Part, ill try sort that out and give it a bash then.

Peter
This content has not been rated yet. 
246 Reputation 35 Total posts
peterg

peterg

3/9/2011 4:19:46 AM
ok, it seems I have a bug somehwere, as soon as there is any other web part ie HTML editor and then the BlogPostList web part and I click on the properties of the BlogPostList the properties for the HTML web part appears. When I remove the HTML Web Part nothing happens then I click on the BlogPostList web part. I have tried it in FireFox and IE

in IE there is a error

Webpage error details
User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0; .NET CLR 1.1.4322; .NET4.0C)
Timestamp: Wed, 9 Mar 2011 04:19:40 UTC

Message: Sys.WebForms.PageRequestManagerServerErrorException: Exception has been thrown by the target of an invocation.
Line: 4723
Char: 21
Code: 0
URI: http://www.naturetalk.co.za/ScriptResource.axd?d=Z6V3QdjI6XvmXd-LqwaOoSIcXRPp1rqtnpEjAdBG-Jhqr6BwnJLlSGccZrfLuOVKadztHmGvVCxIKqNeSpUei62iAZVYNmycrBr9rBP8qWkfeOg5AKDePKJb7yOJ-Lq5k4qWm9TKzsdxAHyT45Gcro3De86KT6k1Xb3Ve57nozLpvbrR0&t=ffffffffffbf9ecd
This content has not been rated yet. 
246 Reputation 35 Total posts
peterg

peterg

3/9/2011 5:27:10 AM
As a last post, I installed a new version on a laptop with the default database data as supplied nothing modified, I added a BlogPostList webpart to a page and I got the same error.

Peter

This content has not been rated yet. 
246 Reputation 35 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

3/9/2011 11:06:34 AM
Hi,

unfortunately this error is not showing us anything. Can you please send us an error log from MonoX so we can check the error underneath ?

Regards.
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
denis

denis

3/9/2011 1:38:11 PM
We cannot replicate this behavior - by default blog page itself holds multiple Web parts and everything works. Is Properties link working on your other pages?
This content has not been rated yet. 
7207 Reputation 956 Total posts
peterg

peterg

3/9/2011 2:33:06 PM
Hi Denis,

No its only the properties link for the BlogListPost...all other properties links work on that page and others. Unfortunatly I cant ecess the log files ill need to send them tomorrow.

Here is what I have done to explain a bit more.

I added a page to the site Photography -added a web part to this page Blog Post List (to only show blogs from our blog page that is relevant to Photograpgy) but to set it up we need to change the BlogSlug as described by khorvat. We cant do this as the properties button doesnt work. If there is a HTML WebPart or any other webpart on the photography page and i click on the properties link for the BlogPostlist, then for example the HTML Properties apear and not the BlogPostList web part properties.

Note: it is just the Properties link that is not working all other links Close - Delete etc does work for this web part.

My site went trough an upgrade and to test if it is a upgrade problem, I did a default install on a laptop as described in the instalattion manual. But I got the same error when I added a BlogPostList Webpart to a random page on the default install.

I hope its explained better.

Peter
This content has not been rated yet. 
246 Reputation 35 Total posts
1 2 3