MonoX support board

Start the conversation, ask questions and share tips and solutions with fellow developers.

Non-registered users can only browse through our support boards. Please register now if you want to post your questions. It takes a second and it is completely free. Alternatively, you can log in without registration using your credentials at major sites such as Google, Microsoft Live, OpenId, Facebook, LinkedIn or Yahoo.

Importing content from other platforms, Blogger, Wordpress, etc.  (Mono Support )

Viewed 20434 time(s), 16 post(s) 2/8/2013 9:52:29 AMby HoTWire
khorvat

khorvat

2/14/2013 10:32:59 AM
Hi George,

Hi, I mean here in this website when I use firefox on windows and edit a url (or add a new one and at the dialog click "All properties") I see the widgets in there not aligned at all
this should be fixed now please check.

Regards
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
Zoomicon

Zoomicon

2/14/2013 1:26:16 PM
yes, now it works

some notes:
- at the first tab it shows, two of the text fields (tooltip and link text if I remember well) could be wider to match the other fields layout (conincide at their right edges)
- the CSS class dropdown takes very long time to open and can even show you a dialog that the scripts takes too long if you are impatient and click arround in firefox. Could prepopulate it in a background script immediately after the
advanced pane has opened, or even from before [when the URL proprties
dialog itself opens] if it still takes too long. That is as long as you cancel the background thread if user closes the advanced properties pane or the url dialog itself if the pane isn't reused elsewhere (don't remember if all Javascript versions support background worker threads though, but could fake them with a timer I guess or find some library that fakes them on older engines)
- at the other two tabs shown at the advanced form of the dialog, the fields could also be wider
This content has not been rated yet. 
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts
Zoomicon

Zoomicon

2/15/2013 8:24:29 PM
Hi Denis,
regarding the links, the StackOverflow says:

Unfortunately, there is no cross-version solution.
In IE9 there is opportunity, allowing to disable automatic hyperlinking:
document.execCommand("AutoUrlDetect", false, false);


so that could be an options maybe somewhere in MonoX configuration

btw, I was wondering whether URL detection and insertion could be implemented for all browsers in JavaScript. That way in IE it would detect the URL before you press space and insert it (and update it if you add more chars to the URL) and when pressing space at the end it will already have been inserted so won't cause any issue (plus user won't have to press that space char, a feature that many might not spot)
This content has not been rated yet. 
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts
Zoomicon

Zoomicon

2/15/2013 8:26:33 PM
btw, at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa769893%28v=vs.85%29.aspx it says:
"Minimum Availability

Internet Explorer 5.5 and later."

so I wonder if the comment about IE9 only at StackOverflow is accurate

This content has not been rated yet. 
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts
Zoomicon

Zoomicon

2/15/2013 10:53:24 PM
...unless they're both right (e.g. document.execCommand might indeed be only in IE9 whereas the "command" to turn off that behaviour might have been in MSHTML library since IE5.5)
This content has not been rated yet. 
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts
mzilic

mzilic

2/16/2013 4:34:18 PM
Unfortunately, there is no cross-version solution.
In IE9 there is opportunity, allowing to disable automatic hyperlinking:
document.execCommand("AutoUrlDetect", false, false);
 
so that could be an options maybe somewhere in MonoX configuration
You can open a new feature request for this in the roadmap forum, although this would only work for IE9 and newer browsers.

This is easy to implement in your own solution too, this JavaScript code should do the trick:
function OnEditorClientLoad(radEditor) {
  radEditor.get_document().execCommand("AutoUrlDetect", false, false)
}
And finally set the RadEditor OnClientLoad property to OnEditorClientLoad.

btw, I was wondering whether URL detection and insertion could be implemented for all browsers in JavaScript. That way in IE it would detect the URL before you press space and insert it (and update it if you add more chars to the URL) and when pressing space at the end it will already have been inserted so won't cause any issue (plus user won't have to press that space char, a feature that many might not spot)
That is very difficult to achieve, please see: http://www.telerik.com/community/forums/aspnet-ajax/editor/autoformat-typed-links-in-chrome.aspx

btw, at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa769893%28v=vs.85%29.aspx it says:
"Minimum Availability
 
Internet Explorer 5.5 and later."
 
so I wonder if the comment about IE9 only at StackOverflow is accurate
This information appears to be accurate. Prior to IE9 this setting was not available to tweak from JavaScript, please see: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4937085/internet-explorer-email-address-autolink-disable

Regards,
Mario
This content has not been rated yet. 
2218 Reputation 300 Total posts
1 2