MonoX support board

Start the conversation, ask questions and share tips and solutions with fellow developers.

Non-registered users can only browse through our support boards. Please register now if you want to post your questions. It takes a second and it is completely free. Alternatively, you can log in without registration using your credentials at major sites such as Google, Microsoft Live, OpenId, Facebook, LinkedIn or Yahoo.

How to dynamically get the rss url  (Mono Support )

Viewed 6437 time(s), 8 post(s) 9/10/2014 9:43:29 AMby panos.pag
panos-pag

panos.pag

9/10/2014 9:43:30 AM
I would like to implement an icon "RSS" near the Blogs header which takes as url the -each time- active rss. How can I grab this RSS in order to place it dynamically (using javascript)?

For example, I have "all blog posts" and the rss is http://social.clipflair.net/Blog.aspx?MonoXRssFeed=ClipFlair-All-blog-posts
, while, after clicking on a single post this rss becomes: http://social.clipflair.net/Blog/post/Spreading-the-word/1048/Collaboration-with-the-Camelot-project/?MonoXRssFeed=ClipFlair-Collaboration-with-the-Camelot-project

How can I, beforehand, grab this url in order to place it in the <a href=""><img src ...</a> 

Thank you, 
Panos
This content has not been rated yet. 
390 Reputation 35 Total posts
Zoomicon

Zoomicon

9/10/2014 12:46:17 PM

Maybe one of these helps:

https://www.google.gr/search?q=rss+autodiscover&sourceid=ie7&rls=com.microsoft:el:IE-Address&ie=&oe=&gfe_rd=cr&ei=8UYQVO6ABsnc8gft5IGQCQ&gws_rd=ssl

since I see at http://www.mono-software.com/Mono/Pages/Discussion/dtopic/c3elfUBjV0yNpp9qANklvg/enable-rss-feeds-in-monox-blogs/?dbmpageno=0 that Denis says about "RSS autodiscovery" being supported

he writes there: "support for RSS "autodscover" feature" (obviously a typo) and "You can find all embedded links easily (for example, on IE 9 click Tools - Feed discovery). ". Indeed in IE if one right clicks the title bar and select to see Menu bar, there is a Tools/Discover Feeds menu where you can pick the feed you want to open (also has functionality to show WebSlices in that menu, although not sure if anybody supports this IE-only [?] concept)

This content has not been rated yet. 
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts
Zoomicon

Zoomicon

9/10/2014 2:16:22 PM

btw, speaking of WebSlices, I see there are extensions for Firefox etc. to support them:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Web_Slice

other links on WebSlices:

http://blogs.msdn.com/b/ie/archive/2009/03/03/create-a-dynamic-web-slice-in-5-minutes.aspx

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/web-slices-faq#1TC=windows-7

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc956158(v=vs.85).aspx

http://www.computerhope.com/tips/tip103.htm

Facebook WebSlice from IE gallery: http://www.iegallery.com/Addons/Details/7247
</br>...
</br>seems that Wikipedia website also supports such: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Template:WebSlice-begin (apart from the fact that user can create their own dynamically from any site that hasn't disabled them explicitly in the HTML)
</br>
</br>Update: collected useful links about WebSlices here: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/lphrc06i661vdv2/AACX2tZFx0Y3DIeSZXUoXoMea?dl=0

This content has not been rated yet. 
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts
Zoomicon

Zoomicon

9/15/2014 7:11:30 AM
seems that Wikipedia website also supports such: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Template:WebSlice-begin (apart from the fact that user can create their own dynamically from any site that hasn't disabled them explicitly in the HTML)
This content has not been rated yet. 
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts
Zoomicon

Zoomicon

9/10/2014 2:17:51 PM

btw, I noticed that when I press DELETE button at a post, the DELETE button just disappears with no message shown in its place like "Deletion requested"

This content has not been rated yet. 
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts
vzakanj

vzakanj

9/12/2014 12:44:03 PM
Hi Panos, 
did you find a solution to your problem from the links Zoomicon provided or you need additional information?

Regards,
Vedran
This content has not been rated yet. 
345 Reputation 61 Total posts
Zoomicon

Zoomicon

9/12/2014 12:51:33 PM

I think Panos asks if there is a ready-made widget for that (an RSS button that when you click shows a dropdown with all autodiscovered RSS links from the page, allowing you to select one to open at NEW window/tab [where you can subscribe as usual or copy-paste the URL from the address bar of that tab/window use elsewhere])

Do you have any such control in mind?

Should we implement it ourselves, is there some method we can call on MonoX (e.g. enumerating the webparts in the page and getting RSS url from each of those that are providers, or call some RSS manager class from the page context or something) to get a list / array of those RSS urls? Ideally we'd like to query some .NET object's property from ASP.net inline command to get back a list of , separated URLs (or a list/array of URLs that we can convert to a string list with some static backend method injected in the page's markup via ASP.net syntax)

This content has not been rated yet. 
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts
mzilic

mzilic

9/12/2014 2:05:28 PM
Hello,

There is no out of the box MonoX functionality such as what you're asking. You would have to develop it yourselves. You could use the RSSEngine GetRegisteredProviderModules to enumerate all of the registered providers on a page then develop your custom server side and client side code. You would as well have to ensure that these providers are turned on, that they have feeds available within them and finally resolve their URLs.

Regards
This content has not been rated yet. 
2218 Reputation 300 Total posts