Mono Support Importing content from other platforms, Blogger, Wordpress, etc. 

Viewed 24389 time(s), 16 post(s), 2/8/2013 9:52:29 AM - by HoTWire
2/14/2013 10:32:59 AM
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts

Hi George,

Hi, I mean here in this website when I use firefox on windows and edit a url (or add a new one and at the dialog click "All properties") I see the widgets in there not aligned at all
this should be fixed now please check.

Regards

11
2/14/2013 1:26:16 PM
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts

yes, now it works

some notes:
- at the first tab it shows, two of the text fields (tooltip and link text if I remember well) could be wider to match the other fields layout (conincide at their right edges)
- the CSS class dropdown takes very long time to open and can even show you a dialog that the scripts takes too long if you are impatient and click arround in firefox. Could prepopulate it in a background script immediately after the
advanced pane has opened, or even from before [when the URL proprties
dialog itself opens] if it still takes too long. That is as long as you cancel the background thread if user closes the advanced properties pane or the url dialog itself if the pane isn't reused elsewhere (don't remember if all Javascript versions support background worker threads though, but could fake them with a timer I guess or find some library that fakes them on older engines)
- at the other two tabs shown at the advanced form of the dialog, the fields could also be wider

12
2/15/2013 8:24:29 PM
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts

Hi Denis,
regarding the links, the StackOverflow says:

Unfortunately, there is no cross-version solution.
In IE9 there is opportunity, allowing to disable automatic hyperlinking:
document.execCommand("AutoUrlDetect", false, false);


so that could be an options maybe somewhere in MonoX configuration

btw, I was wondering whether URL detection and insertion could be implemented for all browsers in JavaScript. That way in IE it would detect the URL before you press space and insert it (and update it if you add more chars to the URL) and when pressing space at the end it will already have been inserted so won't cause any issue (plus user won't have to press that space char, a feature that many might not spot)

13
2/15/2013 8:26:33 PM
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts

btw, at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa769893%28v=vs.85%29.aspx it says:
"Minimum Availability

Internet Explorer 5.5 and later."

so I wonder if the comment about IE9 only at StackOverflow is accurate

14
2/15/2013 10:53:24 PM
2793 Reputation 345 Total posts

...unless they're both right (e.g. document.execCommand might indeed be only in IE9 whereas the "command" to turn off that behaviour might have been in MSHTML library since IE5.5)

15
2/16/2013 4:34:18 PM
2218 Reputation 300 Total posts

Unfortunately, there is no cross-version solution.
In IE9 there is opportunity, allowing to disable automatic hyperlinking:
document.execCommand("AutoUrlDetect", false, false);
 
so that could be an options maybe somewhere in MonoX configuration
You can open a new feature request for this in the roadmap forum, although this would only work for IE9 and newer browsers.

This is easy to implement in your own solution too, this JavaScript code should do the trick:
function OnEditorClientLoad(radEditor) {
  radEditor.get_document().execCommand("AutoUrlDetect", false, false)
}
And finally set the RadEditor OnClientLoad property to OnEditorClientLoad.

btw, I was wondering whether URL detection and insertion could be implemented for all browsers in JavaScript. That way in IE it would detect the URL before you press space and insert it (and update it if you add more chars to the URL) and when pressing space at the end it will already have been inserted so won't cause any issue (plus user won't have to press that space char, a feature that many might not spot)
That is very difficult to achieve, please see: http://www.telerik.com/community/forums/aspnet-ajax/editor/autoformat-typed-links-in-chrome.aspx

btw, at http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa769893%28v=vs.85%29.aspx it says:
"Minimum Availability
 
Internet Explorer 5.5 and later."
 
so I wonder if the comment about IE9 only at StackOverflow is accurate
This information appears to be accurate. Prior to IE9 this setting was not available to tweak from JavaScript, please see: http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4937085/internet-explorer-email-address-autolink-disable

Regards,
Mario

16
1 2
This is a demo site for MonoX. Please visit Mono Software for more info.