MonoX support board

Start the conversation, ask questions and share tips and solutions with fellow developers.

Non-registered users can only browse through our support boards. Please register now if you want to post your questions. It takes a second and it is completely free. Alternatively, you can log in without registration using your credentials at major sites such as Google, Microsoft Live, OpenId, Facebook, LinkedIn or Yahoo.

Html editor  (Mono Support )

Viewed 45726 time(s), 10 post(s) 7/16/2011 10:11:37 PMby nzgrub
nzgrub

nzgrub

7/16/2011 10:15:32 PM
When logged in as administrator, including in design mode, I get a list of ....Properties Copy Minimize Export...... but do not get the edit to allow me to edit the page in html editor. Is there a setting somewhere for this? what am i missing? see attached image.
This content has not been rated yet. 
62 Reputation 10 Total posts
nzgrub

nzgrub

7/17/2011 7:39:53 AM
What I am wanting to end up doing is remove the "Add new group" link so I can make it so groups can only be added by administrator in site admin area. Perhaps theres another way of doing this.
This content has not been rated yet. 
62 Reputation 10 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

7/17/2011 8:39:52 AM
Hi,

I'm not sure if I understand you but I think that we are talking about two separate things here:

1. Html editor won't show you the edit button / link

just to be sure that the mark-up is set properly can you please check if you didn't wrap the Html editor in some other control. e.g. if you put the Html editor in a Panel the it won't show properties for Html editor but for Panel and you won't get the edit link ?

2. How to remove the "Add new group" link (which is not related to Html editor - you can't edit group modules with Html editor)

to remove the "Add new group" link you need to visually inherit the GroupContainer.ascx and GroupList.ascx (that can be found here /MonoX/ModuleGallery/SocialNetworking/Groups/) then change the reference to your GroupList.ascx in our GroupContainer.ascx and in code behind you can change how "Add new group" should appear (Should it be seen only by administrator etc.). If you need more assistance regarding this let us know.

Regards
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
nzgrub

nzgrub

7/19/2011 10:28:43 AM
Yes need more help with this, am well versed with classic asp but this is my first venture into asp.net still a lot to learn.. I am also having a problem with the blog area on my site, see http://www.youth.net.nz/social/blog/posts/MonoX/ not sure what is causing it. Thanks again for your help.
This content has not been rated yet. 
62 Reputation 10 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

7/19/2011 2:51:02 PM
Hi,

We can't see what exactly is happening on your blog page because we get the "User friendly error page", you will need to send us an error log from MonoX so we can investigate the issue and see what exactly is causing the error. You can find the error log located at "/MonoX/ApplicationData/Logs/*.*", just attache the log here or send it to us by an e-mail.

Note: We will provide you with the "Add new group" solution soon.

Regards
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
nzgrub

nzgrub

7/19/2011 8:05:47 PM
error attached
This content has not been rated yet. 
62 Reputation 10 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

7/19/2011 8:48:16 PM
Hi,

did you tamper with the Blog.aspx code-behind, as we can see from the log exception is thrown in the Page_Load event. Event contains reference to few Blog controls:

protected void Page_Load(object sender, EventArgs e)
{
    tagCloud.Title = BlogResources.Tags;
    blogCategories.Title = BlogResources.Categories;
    blogInfo.Title = BlogResources.BlogInfo;
    blogList.Title = BlogResources.BlogList;
}

Can you confirm that you have the following controls in the mark-up or just provide us with the mark-up here ?

Regards


This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
nzgrub

nzgrub

7/19/2011 9:15:56 PM
OK, re-uploaded blog.aspx there was a file size difference so must have got corrupted at some stage. and that seems to have fixed that problem but there is no way of adding a blog post, even in the admin area there is no add button in the blog posts area.
This content has not been rated yet. 
62 Reputation 10 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

7/20/2011 7:39:01 AM
Hi,

can you provide us with the administrator account for your web site via e-mail or direct message so we can see what exactly you are talking about.

Regards 
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

7/20/2011 8:50:18 AM
Hi,

  we have checked the issue you are having and this common problem while setting up new / custom blog. You have changed the name of the Blog to "Admin" and you didn't changed the URL to the blog in the Menu.

I have changed the URL for you now, but just so you know this was the issue, currently in the Menu you had URL to old Blog that was pointing to this
And it should point to the new Blog

When you go to the correct URL as an Administrator you will see all the options you need.

BTW: If you will change the Blog name in the future to update the Menu URL you need to go to Portal administration -> Pages and on the right side you will see the Menu navigation  with Blog item in it.

Regards
This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts