MonoX support board

Start the conversation, ask questions and share tips and solutions with fellow developers.

Non-registered users can only browse through our support boards. Please register now if you want to post your questions. It takes a second and it is completely free. Alternatively, you can log in without registration using your credentials at major sites such as Google, Microsoft Live, OpenId, Facebook, LinkedIn or Yahoo.

baffled....please help..  (Mono Support )

Viewed 34992 time(s), 13 post(s) 3/12/2011 3:27:37 PMby forcevfx
forcevfx

forcevfx

3/12/2011 3:27:37 PM
I am really trying to understand even the most simple stuff..
I know this is not a .net help forum..

this line of code sticks out of me??? please explain:

<%$ Code: MonoSoftware.MonoX.Paths.App_Themes.img.logo_png %>

this represents the main logo...nested in a sub master page,please help me understand how this works..
do I need to read the manual, is this embedded into a theme?

and I have never used this either : $ Code: isn't it all code???

[MonoSoftware.MonoX] core class [.Paths.App_Themes.] obvious [img.logo_png] where is this reference set??

how and why does "imgs/logo.png" turn into :$ Code: MonoSoftware.MonoX.Paths.App_Themes.img.logo_png

I know I can just overwrite file, and change the css for layout, etc...
but a little light would ease my fears, maby this way over my head!!

thank you...
This content has not been rated yet. 
161 Reputation 20 Total posts
forcevfx

forcevfx

3/12/2011 3:33:13 PM
any tips on why my site is so slow..??

3-5 seconds for pageload...

like its compiling the entire app on first visit..is this normal??

I rebuild with all changes I make...
This content has not been rated yet. 
161 Reputation 20 Total posts
denis

denis

3/12/2011 3:51:34 PM
First thing first: $ Code is used by something called code expression builder. A very good description of this technique can be found here: http://weblogs.asp.net/infinitiesloop/archive/2006/08/09/The-CodeExpressionBuilder.aspx Here it is used together with the T4 template for ASP.NET WebForms that creates strongly typed constants that help eliminate the use of literal strings to refer to pages and user controls.
You will then be able to replace:
   
Control uc = LoadControl("/UserControls/MyUserControl.ascx");
By:
   
Control uc = LoadControl(Paths.UserControls.MyUserControl_ascx);

This will give you intellisense and compile time checking that you are pointing where you meant to. No more broken images, scripts and controls.
More details on this technique: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/davidebb/archive/2009/07/12/asppathguru-a-little-t4-love-for-asp-net-webforms.aspx
Do you have to use it in your project? Not at all. You can still use literal strings.

As for the initial page load time - yes, it is normal, but only for the first page hit. Since there are really only a few physical page-folder combinations you are going to use even in a most complex projects, this should not be an issue. However, if this happens on each subsequent page load, something is wrong.
This content has not been rated yet. 
7207 Reputation 956 Total posts
forcevfx

forcevfx

3/12/2011 5:01:05 PM
yes, i do recall running into that when I was building some of c# game classes...

thanks..

another BIG issue..

I have published my build and am making changes on the server. I really do not want two copies updating all the time..

working on my local site, building and copying to the server...

anyway a simple cut and paste takes about 10 seconds...I have crashed 3 times trying to go to split mode...

Using Visual Studio 2010 in this manner is almost impossible...why?? intellsense,the constant error checking of all classes all the time??

or maby i did not install the .chm ????yikes!!!

I open the exact site in MS Expresion 4. and no problems...open/edit/design mode....quick and painless..
I am totally up to date..

I can only suspect some kind of serious overhead in VS studio...

but cpu and mem allocation are normal..some hidden proccess that literrally just locks...then just frees up..
This content has not been rated yet. 
161 Reputation 20 Total posts
denis

denis

3/12/2011 8:04:34 PM
I'm afraid that your scenario is not directly supported by VS - most uf us work in teams anyway, with some kind of source control and continuous integration system. Working directly on a server from VS becomes very cumbersome if you have more than one developer. On the other hand, working with Copy Web site tool in VS , or using a custom sync utility, is rather straightforward.
This content has not been rated yet. 
7207 Reputation 956 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

3/12/2011 10:32:55 PM
Hi,

one note regarding the compile issue mentioned:

any tips on why my site is so slow..??
 
3-5 seconds for pageload...
 
like its compiling the entire app on first visit..is this normal??
 
I rebuild with all changes I make...

there is a web.config setting that can "speed up" your build / run called 
<compilation optimizeCompilations="true">

You can read more about setting the option here. It was introduced as built-in setting in .Net 4.0 for earlier versions you need to install it separately.

For your build and deploy procedure not that we used the scenario (for development only)  where our working VS 2010 folder is used as Web application root folder in IIS so basically when you recompile you can only refresh the page in browser to see the changes. So maybe you will find this more flexible way of developing.

Regards.


This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
forcevfx

forcevfx

3/12/2011 11:55:11 PM
yep, yep...I am starting to get it...

load times are unaccetable. I am dying here..start over from the monox/samples , 3 week development cycle....???

8 seconds to logout????somethings very wrong....

this is where I am..I still have not got to any content :-(

http://www.forcevfx.com/merc/

_____________________________________________________________________

I have a dedicated server, i have uploaded a win32 build of ffMpeg.exe and it runs..
I have the free Flowplayer video player .swf file..

I can not find one single peice of information on where I should place Flowplayer..

please where is the documentaion on Flash video player Web part??
This content has not been rated yet. 
161 Reputation 20 Total posts
forcevfx

forcevfx

3/13/2011 2:19:09 AM
recycled all app pools...re-strated server..and much better...
This content has not been rated yet. 
161 Reputation 20 Total posts
khorvat

khorvat

3/13/2011 7:55:39 AM
You can find the flow player configuration settings in web.config under the appSetting section and they look like this:

<!-- indicates if all files are automatically converted to FLV format -->
<add key="ConvertVideoToFlv" value="true" />
<!-- holds a physical path to the video converter executable -->
<add key="VideoConverterExeLocation" value="" />

You need to set the "VideoConverterExeLocation" with virtual path to flow player.

BTW: Site looks great.



This content has not been rated yet. 
15993 Reputation 2214 Total posts
forcevfx

forcevfx

3/13/2011 12:38:07 PM
yes..thanks, I got that far..


<add key="ConvertVideoToFlv" value="True" />
<add key="VideoConverterExeLocation" value="C:\upload\bin\ffMpeg.exe" />

That runs.....

what I am really looking for is the answer to this post

--------------

It is mentioned in the documentation that MonoX fully supports flowplayer; however, when I looked in web.config there didn't seem to be any place to easily tell it where to look for the flowplayer files (I did see the area where you set flash video conversion, however). Is it simply a matter of dropping the files in the root directory or is a more involved process necessary?

----------------

there has to be something like this:


<add key="Useflowplayer" value="True" />
<add key="flowplayerLocation" value="/flash/flowplayer-3.2.7.swf" />

when a user clicks on a media file, that has been converted to ,flv...
what launches flowplayer and how does monox find and embedd that container??

re.BTW: Site looks great.

That is all you guys..I am using the lazy mans css/site conversion..

all your content pages (from starter template) should be removed today...

I REALLY appreciate your help guys...now I have to buy a license!!

P-



This content has not been rated yet. 
161 Reputation 20 Total posts
1 2